Sign in with
Your question

First timer need advice (Win7/AMD/ATi)

Last response: in Overclocking
October 16, 2009 4:13:48 AM

Hey all,

I recently built a new system, but I have no experience overclocking and am not sure how to best balance heat under load and performance.

So far, the only performance-oriented configuration changes I've made are setting the appropriate RAM latency settings to match the specs of my Kingston HyperX (down to 7-7-7-20) and playing with the CPU multiplier and ATi's built-in Overdrive tool.

I'll list my hardware first, then go over what I'm hoping to accomplish and my experiences thus far. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. My top overclocking concerns, in order, are safety and stability (I want a 24/7 set and forget setup that will not severely decrease the lifespan of my components), GPU-bound gaming performance, CPU-bound general performance. My current plan is to push my GPU as hard as I can without stability or heat issues, and see what you guys think about CPU overclocking.

Case and cooling: Antec Three Hundred w/ stock fans (2x120mm) - have 3x120mm Apevia case fans sitting uninstalled since they seem to have given me the wrong screws >.<, stock heatsink on the CPU
CPU: AMD Phenom II 550 Black Edition - 2x3.1GHZ
GPU: XFX Radeon 4850 1GB - 625/993MHz
RAM: 4 (2x2) GB DDR3-1333 Kingston HyperX
Mobo: MSi 770-C45 (AM3/DDR3/SB710)
Software: ATI Catalyst 9.9, Windows 7, 64 bit.

What I've done so far: