Sign in with
Your question
Solved

PCI to SATA Confusion

Last response: in Storage
January 11, 2010 3:15:39 PM

Hi-

I am a first time builder trying to build a little home server/NAS. I am inheriting a small Intel Atom330 mobo from a friend. This board has 2 on-board SATA interfaces and 1 PCI slot.

I would like to use 2 SATA hard drives and a SATA DVD drive for my server/NAS.

My question and confusion is about options for a PCI- to Sata controller and operating system choices.

I do not need any RAID function from the PCI to SATA card I simply want to be able to add additional SATA interfaces to the Mobo.

Most PCI to Sata cards I have seen require drivers and have some type of RAID function built in. This seems to limit the operating system that the card can be used with. If I do not use the inherent RAID function of the PCI to SATA card will I still be limited to the listed compatible operating systems and be able to attach a DVD drive and hard drive to the card? Or does the operating system always require a driver to interpret the card input and not simply see it as another native SATA interface?

I guess I am wondering why a card will have limited operating system compatibility if I don't use the RAID function and only want it to increase the number of SATA interfaces.

Thank you in advance

More about : pci sata confusion

January 12, 2010 5:09:57 AM

Laser1 said:
I am a first time builder trying to build a little home server/NAS. I am inheriting a small Intel Atom330 mobo from a friend. This board has 2 on-board SATA interfaces and 1 PCI slot.
I would like to use 2 SATA hard drives and a SATA DVD drive for my server/NAS.
My question and confusion is about options for a PCI- to Sata controller and operating system choices.