adam-the-kiwi

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2008
I'm not certain I'm asking this in the right forum, so apologies if I've got it wrong. A quick search hasn't turned anything up either...

I'm looking to build, as per the title, an always-on ultra-low-power file server. My requirements are pretty flexible, but they currently look like this:
- Lowest possible power – the only really immutable requirement;
- 1TB storage;
- RAID5;
- SATA disks;
- 1Gb Ethernet;
- Linux (with Samba to share the disk as SMB);
- Headless, accessed by ssh;
- Fanless.

Forgive me if some of these questions seem a bit dumb – I have some experience of building my own boxes, but they’ve all been pretty standard builds before…

I guess I’m not going to need much processor grunt for this. Several people have suggested looking at Mini-ITX, but I’ve also seen a few boards like this one:
http://www.ampltd.com/prod/u886.html
or this one:
http://www.electronicspecifier.com/Embedded-Products/Ultra-low-power-PC-104-PXA270-SBC.asp
These (apparently) claim much lower power consumption than most Mini-ITX (1.5W typical against 9ishW typical).

I’d probably be looking for a system that could support wake-on-lan – in fact, I’ll try to employ every power-saving trick I can. I suppose I’m unlikely to find onboard gigabit Ethernet, so I’d need a dedicated card. I thought that I could consider putting the OS on a flash drive. I guess I’d probably be looking at a dedicated RAID controller. I have a tower case I can use to hold all this – not bothered if there is a mass of free space inside – that will help with cooling.

Disks: would 2.5” laptop disks be a better bet than 3.5” disks?

Budget is not a constraining factor – it’s more about the playing around to build this than tryingf to find a cheaper solution than already exists. Having said that, I don’t intend to buy the most expensive components just because I can – I’ll just probably choose performance (particularly in the low-power arena) over price.