please check what I got for a new PC, I am a newbie at this!

generalbrando

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2008
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor

Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS4 LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM
Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Vid Card
EVGA 512-P3-N873-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+

CPU Cooler
ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink

Case
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Power Supply
Antec Signature SG850 850W

Hi, thanks for checking out my thread, this is what I have for my new PC, this is going to be the first I biuld a set up sp any comments you have would be very helpful to me.

The one thing that I am sure the least on is the RAM its the one of the few I can find at 1.8v(thats what the manual for the mobo said it had) but could I use a different voltage for the RAM if the RAM is 2.2v or 1.5v would it be fine? cause I wanted to get Ram more suited for gaming.

Thanks a lot.

bdollar

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2008
couple of questions?

any plans to overclock and what resolution are you gaming at? do you already have hard drive, dvd drive etc? what is your budget? what are you using the computer for?

couple of things I have noticed:

1. need more ram and unless big overclock ddr2 800 is cheaper and will work just as well. even if staying with 32 bit having 3.2 gb (that is how much of the 4gb it will read) is way better than 2.

2. don't know a ton about the gtx+. Check benches against the 4850. i think they are priced pretty similar. but make sure you check them on the resolution you will be playing. comparing at a better or worse doesn't do you any good.

3. will have more opinions about cpu and stuff once i have an idea of budget and use of the computer.

rockyjohn

Distinguished