Overclocking asus P5Q w/ Q6600

G

Hi, I've recently purchased a GTX 295 and now I need to overclock my cpu for it not to be a bottlneck for my card.

Anyway, I'm new to the whole overclocking world, I probably spent the whole day reading about it and I decided to try it out.

So I went to my bios setting and did what I learned to do, but everytime I want to change my cpu ratio or my fsb frequency, it just won't let me. It stays on auto. I've tried to change the FSB on the bridge but I still can't get it to work, it's so damn frustrating.

I probably had to reset my Bios atleast 8 times using the motherboard jumpers.

Long story short? I need help with overclocking my Q6600 on my Asus P5Q motherboard. I'd be glad if anyone can help me out. and yes, I have already read a couple of guides on this site and on other sites but to no use, I still can't get it to work.

Anyway, here's my specs: I have Asus P5Q motherboard as I mentioned before, Q6600, GTX 295, Mushkin PC2-6400 5-5-5-18 4GB ddr2-800 MHZ, 900w cooler master psu, Cooler master V8.

daviduk109

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2008
what is the exact model of the board? I have just overclocked my q6600 using an asus p5kpl-am board. The frequency value of the fsb setting was set to 'automatic' but I was able to select it, press 'enter' and then change it from 'automatic' to 'manual'. That allowed me to increase the frequency speed of the fsb (by using the number keypad to type the new value that I wanted the fsb to run at).

If you can establish the exact model of the motherboard then it might be helpful to google the problem to see if anyone else has had similar issues.

Also, how did you come by the pc? did someone build it for you? if the pc was built by someone else, they may have set it up in such a way as to prevent overclocking

ahemsa

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2009