Advice needed on RAID 10 on a home PC

feeble

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2010
I have never used RAID on a home computer before, but have built servers at work many times. The configuration there is usually RAID 1 for the O/S partition and RAID5 (now RAID10) for any storage partitions.

I have 10 years worth of stuff on my PC, which is not redundant at all. I was thinking of a NAS, but as my current PC is 5 years old anyway, I thought I would build a home PC with RAID10 over 4 1GB SATA disks. I know that RAID10 or RAID 5 would be inferior to RAID 0 or RAID 1 in terms of speed for hardcore gamers, but as I am not in that category, I would like someone to clarify exactly how much of a performance hit I would take by have the RAID 10 / 4 1TB disk set up? From what I have read, the lag would chiefly be in load / start up times - is this correct. As I only play games occasionally, and everything else is of a reasonable spec (AMD Phenom 955/ 4GB DDR3), would this still be a decent performing home PC? I would rather not spend another £100 getting two decent 300GB disks for a RAID 1 O/S partition, and this would mean that I could not spare 4 disks for RAID10 storage (there are 6 sata connections on the motherboard, and I have a couple of dvdrw drives too). Many thanks in advance.

feeble

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2010
One more thing. What large capacity SATA disks are good for RAID10? I have heard that Western Digital Caviar 1tb should be avoided.

The value of raid-1 and it's variants like raid-5 or 10 for protecting data is that you can recover from a hard drive failure quickly.
It is for servers that can't afford any down time.
Recovery from a hard drive failure is just moments.
Fortunately hard drives do not fail often.
Mean time to failure is claimed to be on the order of 1,000,000 hours.(100 years)
Raid-1 does not protect you from other types of losses such as viruses,
software errors,raid controller failure, operator error, or fire...etc.
For that, you need EXTERNAL backup.