Sign in with
Your question

Can p4 be overclocked ?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 23, 2009 5:29:51 PM

hello everybody :) 
i've an old p4 processor 3.06 GHz... In my old compaq system... i wanted to overclock the processor to squeeze a bit more performance... can p4's be overclocked... the mobo's an MSI MS-7174 that hp has given with the processor... its a socket 775...

i am a novice at overclocking so any links to detailed guide is highly appreciated...

More about : overclocked

October 23, 2009 5:57:10 PM

personally i would say drop in a cheap core2 such as an e5200...it will be much much faster than that p4, run cooler and overclock better. christ even the newest crappy celerons for socket 775 would be better than that p4. im not trying to be an ass, just giving my two cents is all.
m
l
Related resources
October 24, 2009 1:41:46 PM

thanks eagles... i've decided to buy a dual core... thanks for ur advice...
m
l
November 4, 2009 5:36:48 PM

Hey Eagles!
I know it's a sham and all, considering that I work with music applications but, I myself am working with Intel P4. I was wondering, are we able to install http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6819116072 to our computers(upgrade) without modifying nothing else?

I hope so, because I will definitely purchase this product.

Hit me back, please!!

Thanks
m
l
November 6, 2009 3:41:31 AM

how would I find out what socket I have for my p4 2.0 ghz ?
m
l
November 6, 2009 4:53:46 AM

jhandley

You would have to get something of this nature - http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php. It will give you the info you need. I myself use this.
m
l
a b å Intel
a c 197 K Overclocking
November 7, 2009 7:21:42 AM

jhandley said:
how would I find out what socket I have for my p4 2.0 ghz ?

Your motherboard probably has an S478 socket. What that means is that it is time to upgrade.
m
l
November 8, 2009 12:10:09 AM

If you install Cpu-z it should tell you what socket you have,and more details..i guess it'll be a 478.
m
l