Sign in with
Your question

First Desktop in about 5 years

Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2008 8:09:00 PM

As the thread name suggests I've been out of the desktop scene for about 5 years, I switched to a laptop for university for portability and gaming in one and now it's getting on a bit, I've decided to switch back to a desktop as a graduation 'gift' to myself :p  And am not likely to be able to afford an upgrade in the near future after this (grad study, possible emmigration etc.) And so I would quite like to not mess it up hence why I'm after some opinions from people who have a clue, unlike myself.

Now I'm not technically incompetent, I can take and put together a computer, install new OS's etc. but the theorycrafting leaves me a bit lost (e.g. is it worth going for a quadcore at xx Ghz or sticking with a dual core at xx Ghz, what caches what speed should the RAM be etc. taking into account OS limitations on access).

I have a budget of between 600 and 700 pounds (I'm English) and would just be looking for a base unit, no monitors, speakers, etc as I have all of that. Would I be able to get a decent gaming setup for that which wouldn't become obsolete when I turned it on? I've had a gander around Ebay at the computer powersellers and there seems to be a big push for the quadcores, I know I'm looking for nothing below an 8600GT. Does anyone have any tips on where to start or things I should avoid?

More about : desktop years

August 17, 2008 8:33:49 PM

well personalty if your going to use it for multimedia and gaming I would have a quad core like a Q6600 or something cheap, you can get stupid clock speeds out of it. The graphics card i wouldn't go towards a 9800 because its basically a 8800. or a little HD4850. Erm as for power supply a 550watt should do the trick someone might disagree there. Motherboard well it depends if you want to over clock and if you want crossfire SLI etc.