New build with no video output

prieto520

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
Im a NEWB at computers this is my first build and im having problems with video output the monitor works
and ive tried vga cable, dvi cable,dvi/hdmi connector, dvi/vga connector, svideo to component and i still get no signal there is no onboard video i can see i reset the bios by removing the battery for five minutes i tried both PCIE slots i even went and bought a diamond stealth x1550 i have no beeps from the motherboard

all the fans work on the motherboard, cpu and the HD4850 so its getting power. there are two red leds that are lit. Is that normal?

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX6000CZBOX - Retail

Graphics Card: VisionTek 900241 Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-DS4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX Ultra Durable II AMD Motherboard - Retail

Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK - Retail

PSU: Rosewill RX750-D-B ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12V v2.91 750W Power Supply - Retail

i would appreciate any and all help thanks in advance.

prieto520

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
i plugged the 12v PCIE connector on the MOBO as well as on the Card on the 4850 the diamond does not have a power plug on the card so i just used the on on the MOBO

prieto520

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
The Diamond video card is the Stealth x1550 which has no power connector the Visiontek Radeon HD 4850 does and i did connect it as well as the PCIE power supply on the MOBO

This sort of problem can come from a wide range of things, especially when it's your first build.

You need to carefully check everything, make sure it's seated right.

24 pin ATX connection
8 pin CPU connection
Verify any jumpers on the board are correctly set.
Take out memory except first stick.