Sign in with
Your question
Solved

IDE, SATA, PATA connections

Last response: in Storage
January 17, 2010 5:09:02 AM

Hi all,
I'm a novice builder trying to put together my first system on my own. I'm trying to save on costs where I can, and I'm curious if I can use an old DVD drive with my new system. The problem is the old drive is IDE, and the mobo I'm leaning toward buying only seems to have SATA and PATA storage capabilities. Will I be able to hook up my old drive should I just suck it up and spend $30 on a new one?

This is the mobo I was looking at:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Thanks a lot.
January 17, 2010 5:19:53 AM

That board can still accomidate an IDE DVD Drive. IDE/PATA are the same.
m
l
January 17, 2010 5:20:11 AM

It will work, often times the terms IDE and PATA are used interchangably by mistake. PATA and SATA are drive connection types, IDE is actually a hum, how do I put this, like a protocol really. Eh I can't explain it well enough, anyway it will work fine.
m
l
Related resources
January 17, 2010 2:25:31 PM

the controller type is IDE. to connect the controller to the hdd or the DVD, it takes an interface.there is two type of interface for the IDE controller, The old parallel type, called P-ATA or the new one called S-ATA.

So, if you have a PATA connector, then the drive attatched to it is connected to the controller. And since the controller is the one that drives the devices, the os don't really care as it communicate with the controller and not the devices itself.
m
l
January 17, 2010 4:40:33 PM

Great, thanks so much to all who replied.

Another quick question...I'm looking at OEM SATA hard drives - will a retail mobo come with SATA cables or should I buy one separately?

Thanks again.
m
l
January 17, 2010 4:52:32 PM

normally, there is at least one SATA cable included. high end board tend to have more.
m
l
January 17, 2010 5:24:43 PM

Ok, that's what I figured. Thanks again.
m
l

Best solution