Need help mildly overclocking i5-750 on GA-P55M-UD2

The_Bman

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2009
I'm new to OC'ing and just built an i5-750 rig. I mostly use this PC for photo/video editing, web development, ms office work. Some DVD/video watching, very little hardcore gaming.

I'm looking for instructions / guidance on doing a mild overclock (mid 3 GHz) that should run stable for an always on PC. I haven't seen many i5 overclocking guides, especially for newbies who don't want to screw up the CPU/motherboard/RAM.

Specs:

Intel Core i5-750
CM Hyper 212+ HSF
Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2
OCZ 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800, 9-9-9-24
Gigabyte Radeon HD 4670 1GB
Samsung Spinpoint F3 750GB HD753LJ
HP dvd 1260i
Corsair 400W CMPSU-400CX
CM Centurion 534 case
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

CompuTronix

Intel Master
The_Bman,

Please read the Core i7 Overclocking Guide at the top of this Forum. Although it's not specifically for the i5, the architecture is nearly identical, and the principals are the same, so the Guide will still work for you.

Comp :sol:

The_Bman

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2009
Thanks, CompuTronix. I have read through that post before. I was looking for a little more specific instruction, perhaps with the i5 / ud2 motherboard combo and sample settings for a mild overclock. Like some ballpark settings where I might end up.

Another thing I'm not very comfortable with is the RAM timings. How do these come into play? They aren't mentioned in the guide.

The_Bman

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2009
Thanks for the pointers.

I tried out a light overclock and seemed to do fine. I got the speed and timings on my RAM set first, then took the base clock up to 160.

So I ended up with 3.2GHz and 1600MHz for the RAM using a VCore of 1.25V and the DRAM at 1.64V (the BIOS had no 1.65V option). Temps were in the 40's idle and never broke 60 during the benchmarks I ran.