building case from scratch

trapach

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
hi!

I am building a PC, and I thought it would be fun to build the case as well - I've never done before, so I hope I don't get electrocuted :pt1cable:

I can't seem to find any info on how to build your own case, I've been googling for days but no luck.

do you guys know of any book or tutorial?
what is the best way to do this is? I could buy just buy "the inside" of the case (e.g. no plastic), and then build around it (although I couldn't find a store that sold that).
ideally, I'd like to just do some crazy shape, but no sure if components can be put together randomly or if they must be in a specific spot - most cases are pretty much the same in terms of size and ratio between width/height.

please, would love some tips to get started!

thanks! :hello:

trapach

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
thanks johnny,

I actually did, but I can't find the info I'm looking for:

* can I buy just "the inside" of the case, and then build on top of it?
* can components can be put together randomly or if they must be in a specific spot?

dzeric

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2008
If I were you I would buy a cheaper case, strip off parts you don't want then mod it how you like it.
If you go from scratch make sure you measure everything correctly for the motherboard, you don't want any metal touching the back end except for the risers. For the layout of the rest of the parts (hdd, etc...) just make sure they get proper ventilation, but other than that they can go pretty much anywhere.

I have long been interested in quiet PC's, and have frequented that web site. Lots of good info there. I remembered reading about the case.

What do YOU wish to accomplish with building your own case?

trapach

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
well, I just don't like how regular cases look.

meaning, the ratio between the height of the tower and the width. it's too narrow and too tall to me.

I'd like to have one a little shorter and wider.