Sign in with
Your question

building case from scratch

Last response: in Components
November 4, 2008 5:50:46 PM

hi!

I am building a PC, and I thought it would be fun to build the case as well - I've never done before, so I hope I don't get electrocuted :pt1cable: 

I can't seem to find any info on how to build your own case, I've been googling for days but no luck.

do you guys know of any book or tutorial?
what is the best way to do this is? I could buy just buy "the inside" of the case (e.g. no plastic), and then build around it (although I couldn't find a store that sold that).
ideally, I'd like to just do some crazy shape, but no sure if components can be put together randomly or if they must be in a specific spot - most cases are pretty much the same in terms of size and ratio between width/height.

please, would love some tips to get started!

thanks! :hello: 

More about : building case scratch

a c 248 ) Power supply
November 4, 2008 9:40:35 PM

Some people take an existing pc case and modify it. There are some people who build cases from scratch.

Try doing a search for: case mods and/or case modding.

Do the same over at you tube.
November 4, 2008 9:59:20 PM

thanks johnny,

I actually did, but I can't find the info I'm looking for:

* can I buy just "the inside" of the case, and then build on top of it?
* can components can be put together randomly or if they must be in a specific spot?
Related resources
November 4, 2008 10:05:28 PM

If I were you I would buy a cheaper case, strip off parts you don't want then mod it how you like it.
If you go from scratch make sure you measure everything correctly for the motherboard, you don't want any metal touching the back end except for the risers. For the layout of the rest of the parts (hdd, etc...) just make sure they get proper ventilation, but other than that they can go pretty much anywhere.
November 4, 2008 11:33:01 PM

hey thanks guys!!!