Sign in with
Your question

How do these numbers look?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 27, 2009 1:15:44 PM

This is my first time to overclock, so I just wanted to make sure that I'm doing it safely. How the below numbers look? The system is a 6000+ Windsor, Asus Crosshair, 2GB of 5-5-5-15, ATI 3870, Vraptor. This on the stock cooler in a well ventilated case. Does it all look good?

CPU Speed: 3359Mhz
Bus Speed: 224Mhz
HT Speed: 896Mhz
RAM Speed: 373Mhz
CPU Voltage: 1.475
Core 1 Temp: 35
Core 2 Temp 40
CPU Temp 40
(These are idle temps. I wanted to ask you guys to look at the voltage and stuff before I stressed it.)

More about : numbers

October 27, 2009 4:25:52 PM

I got a BSOD in the middle of a video. I decreased the bus speed to 220Mhz, which is a CPU speed of 3.3Ghz. I left the voltage the same, but changed the memory CL to 4-4-4-10. It seems quite stable, but it failed Prime95.

The CPU to HT is from 5x to 4x, and the RAM speed is from 800 to 667Mhz. In Prime95 the temps got to the low 60's. This doesn't seem too bad. Why is it failing the stability test? What should I change?

I know this CPU is only suppose to overclock to about 6.4Ghz max, but I don't see what is stopping mine at 3.3Ghz.
m
l
October 27, 2009 5:02:40 PM

There is no way your processor is going to get near even 5ghz... Where did you read your proc should hit 6>???? Maybe on LN2 and that is just temporary.

What exact parts are in your system? What is the ram rated for(667, 800)? PS? etc.

IMO using the stock cooler is not a good idea for overclocking. You could up the volts to try to get the overclock stable, but that will just raise the temps even further..you might want to invest in a good heatsink before overclocking any further.

I don't go past 60C @ load on my overclocks to make sure the chip is going to last as long as I need it.
Btw what program are you using to check the temps @load?
m
l
Related resources
October 27, 2009 6:08:31 PM