Long term Upgrade Advice

eliezer_kt

Honorable
Apr 13, 2012
Hey everyone, I am a college student who's a little short on cash. I Most frequently use my pc for games, watching movies and encoding media usually movies and music in HD. Occasionally some Photoshop and video editing for my home collection, nothing professional though.

I built this pc about 4 years ago

MOBO- Asus m4a78 em
Amd mobo supporting upto phenom II but not the new FX series. ddr2 upto 1200Mhz
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 x2 5200+
Its a dual core at 2.7GHZ, currently OCed to 3.1GHZ

RAM - 3GB ddr2 666 MHz Latency 5555
Currently Oced to 800 MHz latency 6655

GPU - Nvidia GTS 250 1GB Gddr3. Oced to 765/1868/1135

Power Supply - Cooler Master 600 watt

Display- Samsung 21" 1600x900

I build this Pc when I was a complete noob! the only thing I knew about hardware were the names of the components! took me 2 days trying to put the damn thing together reading the Motherboard manual! :sweat:

Currently I can play BF3 at high and I get min 20 fps in graphic intensive areas, up to 45 in close quarters.
I play all my games at 1600x900

I convert my videos using badaboom, whew!! otherwise imagine encoding a full length HD movie with the processor I mentioned above.

Right now I have 180$ to spend on my PC. I am somehow convinced that I should upgrade my processor to a AMD phenom II x4 970 ( quad core, 3.5GHz, Black edition, 6mb L3 cache) and get up to 6gb ddr2 ram by selling the ones I got(ie sell 3 Gb of 666 MHZ and buy 6gb 0f 800 MHZ with good latency) then overclock both of then when I need more performance and maybe get a better GPU next year with dx 11/12 support around 200$ My goal after this upgrade is to wait for ddr4 without compromising too much on gaming( min 30 fps on mid-high setting is good enough for me)