My very first PC build, lemme know if it sounds alright...

garrettmania

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2008
Hi there!
Recently, my 2 year old Dell PC kicked the bucket because of lightning hitting right outside my bedroom.
So I'm dumping Dell and going with a hand built machine. It's my first build and I hope all the parts will work well together and will be fast (or at least decent...). I was looking for something fast but energy efficient because I'm a "dirty hippy" so to speak :p.

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/P...r=12755927&WishListTitle=Garrett's Desktop PC

Lemme know what you think about it. Whether the parts are compatible with each other, what will "bottleneck the machine", how long it should last me (unless another bolt of lightning hit's my house...).

Thanks!
--Garrett

BTW, I'm going with the x86 OS vs the x64 for two reasons...
1) My Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Premium that I got for x-mas is only certified, according to their website, to work with the x86 os.
2) I want to wait for the technology to improve, I REALLY want the extra security, memory access, and slight speed boost, but I want it to mature a bit (drivers, available x64 software, etc.)

To flesh that out a bit, the Zalman cooler you listed may be pretty and all, but it's no longer considered a great cooler.

An x48 chipset board can be had at a decent price, and it will do a better job with crossfired 4870s. Especially at resolutions 1980x1200 and higher.

If you only want to use one 4870, may I suggest the P5Q -E... most of the features of the Deluxe at a better price.

Oh and the Western Digital drive is faster, more reliable, and far better bang for the buck at that price.

garrettmania

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2008
I really like that Zalman heatsink because of how it looks and the blue LED plus I don't plan on doing any serious OCing, maybe enough to get 1:1 on bus speeds and maybe the CPU up to at most 3.4.