Higher FPS with lower CPU speed? WTF

nightsilencer

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2008
Hey guys, I have a very weird issue happening with my computer right now.

I get higher frame rates when my CPU is on "Max Power Saving Mode" which basically underclocks every possible component to reduce power comsumption. I use this mode to surf the web, listen to music, watch movies, etc.

I usually play my games with FRAPS on (call me a frame rate freak) and I caught this "problem" only by chance. I started playing Dead Space and forgot to put my PC into "high performance" mode which basically puts the CPU at it's stock frequency.

I usually get around 40-45 FPS with everything maxed out, and I was already used to that constant frame rate. To my surprise, this time when I was playing, I notice a significant boost on my FPS; it jumped to around 55-60.

I was left wondering what had happened, I checked the visual settings and everything was maxed out @ the same resolution.

until I noticed my CPU was only working @ 1.7ghz (remember, is was on power saving mode). So I tested and retested and got the same results... with higher CPU speed I lose FPS... with lower speeds... I get higher FPS. WTF is going on? Is this some kind of new phenomenon? Like reverse bottlenecking or whatever...

any idea what it might be?

For reference, here are my specs:

Intel E8400 @ stock (no need to OC it right now, still plenty of juice left on it with stock speeds)

GF 8600GT (does not require aditional power, just what comes from the PCI-E bus)

Asus P5Q Pro

2x2GB Transcend RAM 800mhz

Deer (generic?) 480w PSU.... it came with my case.

And here are the pics of that happening with Dead Space. Also IT HAPPENS on other games, so I just put Dead Space pics as an example, since it happened on every game.

Dead Space @ stock CPU:

Dead Space @ throttling CPU:

The difference in FPS might not seem significant here, but believe, in some cases it goes as far as 15 FPS. What the hell is wrong with my PC? :|