Sign in with
Your question

Recovery

Last response: in Storage
January 19, 2010 10:22:22 PM

ok i am a cit student and a friend gave me his comp to fix, he completley deleted his hardrive. no os. i am trying to do a recovery with a cd, but i cant get it to boot from the cd. i cant get to anything except seysem setup or boot menu and all i get is windows root/system32\hd dll

More about : recovery

a b G Storage
January 20, 2010 1:23:10 AM

Hi newcomer and welcome to the Tom's hardware forum.

Download THIS, connect the your friend's disk to your computer, boot from the CD an in recovery tools, use the volkovcommander.

Another option is that install the OS again, and use Active File Recovery to recover your friend's data and files
m
l
January 20, 2010 12:24:53 PM

thanx for all the info. I have a recovery disk buit when i put it in nothing happens , i have set it to boot from cd , but it doesnt come up. i know the disk works cause i tried it in y pc. i can get it to the advanced start up options but bo mater what i push it goes to windows default and then i get this missing or corrupt file windows root\ system 32\hd dl
m
l
Related resources
a c 359 G Storage
January 20, 2010 2:43:20 PM

Within the BIOS Setup system where you specify the Boot Priority Sequence, set it to boot from the optical drive first and NO other option after that. This may force the BIOS to not even look at any hard drive it finds connected and allow you to complete booting from the CD.

In either case, it may be easier to use the right software recovery tools on this drive if it were mounted temporarily as just another data storage drive in a different known-good computer. Then you could install the software tools on that computer's hard drive and use them from there on the recovery target unit. After you've done the recovery you could then re-install it in its original home.