Sign in with
Your question

Power Supply and ATX mods

Last response: in Components
November 7, 2008 2:19:52 AM

Hey guys.

I was wondering if I should cut my power supply 24 pin and 8 pin CPU header shorter.

Would that make a difference in speed of power and resistance to motherboard?

But I figure that if my thinking was correct. I wouldnt be the engineer behind the scenes. And due to my thoughts that is why I am not an engineer haha.

I figure if I trim the wires shorter, there will be power send faster to the motherboard?

Or in addition, I was thinking of soldering all 24 pins to the board as well. Instead of simply plugging it in.

What do you think?

Do you guys have any tips or tricks for power supply MODS that you would care to share?

More about : power supply atx mods

a c 248 ) Power supply
a b V Motherboard
November 7, 2008 2:36:07 AM

I have seen case mods with custom made power cables made to exact lengths. It looks good but it will not do anything for speed of power and resistance because the cables are extremely short. It's normally done for cable management and bling.
November 7, 2008 2:41:00 AM

soldering them to the board might not offer any performance gain, but it will give you the benefit of it being a son of a b!tch to replace.
Related resources
November 7, 2008 2:46:40 AM

jeremyrailton said:
...... give you the benefit of it being a son of a b!tch to replace.

Damn the way you said that made me laugh haha.

I was thinking about that. lol.

I guess right there is almost reason enough not to do it.
November 7, 2008 3:38:05 AM

Google "ATX Pin Remover" for the right tool for the job (glorified punch)
http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g11/c28/s91/list/p1/Pow...

http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g11/c28/s219/list/p1/Po...