Prime95 torture test cpu temps in the 90's C. Why?

distracted11

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2009
I am going to give you info on items in my build that I think would be relavant. I ran Prime95 torture test and was getting temps in the upper 80's to mid 90's C in less than 10 min. running. Temp monitoring with CPUID. Idle temps 37-41C. CPU is running stock...no attempt at OC yet. Also, Prime95 failed on some modules after 5-6 minutes and twice the computer shut down while running the test. I don't know how to check the errors that occured? I am guessing shut down was due to high temps?

Have patience with me. I am new to this and have limited understanding. I want to understand though and that is why I am seeking advice/explanation of what to check or do next.

i7 920

ZALMAN CNPS 9900

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

(2) CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) = 12GB

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

BFG - NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 OC 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Any information or suggestions would me much appreciated!!

Many blessings,
Beth

dumbcanadian

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
Did you assemble the system yourself? CPU overheating is usually caused by improperly seated heatsink. You could also double check to make sure the fan on the heatsink is working properly.

Another option would be taking the heatsink off and reapplying some thermal compound and reseating it.

Hope this helps!

wsupduck

Distinguished
Aug 21, 2009
you may want to get an aftermarket heatsink also, the i7 heatsink has a reputation for being very low quality and not cooling the cpu effectively even with stock frequencies and voltage

distracted11

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2009