Sign in with
Your question

Boot Manager

Last response: in Windows XP
January 20, 2011 3:01:54 PM

Hi - Newbie here.
Silver Surfer, quite lost in a Boot Manager Missing problem. Here's how:
I built a system for my son from mostly used parts. ASRock Conroe XFire Esata2 Mobo, Intel E4400 CPU, WDE AAKS 500GB SATA Hdd, 2 GB PC2 - 6400 RAM. LiteOn (IDE) DVDRW & DVDROM, in a Coolermaster 330 case.
The hard drive is one of 2 that I have tried in the system, I had previously formatted them in a ESATA external case from my HP Lappy (Win7, 64 bit).
Problem starts when I attempt to install Windows XP from a known good and genuine oem XP SP3 disc. (was my own, in a previous PC, stored in a dark dry place.)
I get "Boot Manager Missing" - "Press Control+Alt+ Delete to Restart."
It does not restart. I cannot get the PC to do anything else. What can I do, and what am I doing wrong, please/ Any help will spare my last remaining hair!
Regards, Robbon.

More about : boot manager

January 20, 2011 3:47:02 PM

OEM installs are tied to the original hardware they were installed on. You can't install that copy on different hardware.
January 20, 2011 7:22:47 PM

Thanks for the response.
I know that is supposed to be the rule - BUT - I have used this XP disc in 3 previous installs myself, with different mobo's, RAM, and CPU's. And I don't think that addresses the problem of "Boot Manager Missing". In addition, I have tried the same install with the original XP that was on the PC mobo: same results. If I am wrong, please forgive me. In that event, do I then have to buy a full version of XP? My son does not want another O/S, being dyslexic and having taken a long time to get used to it.
Related resources
January 20, 2011 7:43:45 PM

The problem with trying to re-install an OEM version, is it won't activate on new hardware. It's designed to recognize the hardware, and stay with it (mainly the motherboard).