Performance problems

cololi91

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2009
Hello I'm new to this website and this is my first thread :hello: .
I'm having a problem with my latest PC. You see, I built it and now I regret it because it is not performing well.
Ok here is the problem: Only when I play demanding games such as call of duty 4 or Oblivion or Prototype... my computer turns of and turns on back again by itself. It usually is like 45 minutes before it shuts down.
Ok as I've seen everywhere people post their system information or hardware. Ok im new to this stuff and ill do my best:

Processor: Intel 2 core Quad Q9550
Ram 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 series. 1 GB
Motherboard: Asus P5Q-E
Chipset: P45
Hard Disk: 1500GB

I don't know what else to mention, please give me some tips, and here are some temperatures:

Processor: 36C
Mainborard:43C
Power:25C
Core 1 :46C
Core 2:43C
Core 3:42C
Core 4:42C
Hard Disk: 38C

All these are idle temperatures, which i guess counts like right now? browsing the internet?
When i play demanding games Cpu temperatures rise a lot, some to high 50s other to like 65. The other temperatures do not rise much. And I wish I could know the video card temperature but I don't.

Some friends tell me its a virus but I think it is a temperature problem. My doubt is if it is the cpu or the video card. I mean i think i have pretty decent gear, or at least was expensive :sweat: .
The CPU has its fan on top, and well placed. Moreover i have a huge fan (like 10 cm radius) on top of all, that came with chassis. Also i have another 1, this one normal sized.
I've tried opening the chassis and playing like that but it did not matter. Tried putting a huge fan outside PC aiming at video card...etc, i have tried many things because it is very frustrating.
I hope this is the right place to ask
Thank you a lot for those of you who take your time to read this and I'll appreciate any help or comments. Thanks

overshocked

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009