Sign in with
Your question

Building First Gaming PC - Need Advice/Opinions Etc

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
August 23, 2008 4:41:52 AM

EDIT 8/23/08 - Added/Changed/Updated Motherboard, CPU Cooler, Cooler Bracket, Thermal Compound, PSU, DVD Drive, Case and OS.

EDIT 8/24/08 - Updated to final build.

Hey guys,

Basically, I am a first time builder and you can say I have never touched the insides of a computer before. However, recently I was able to convince my parents to let me spend about $1200 to $1500 on my first real gaming rig. At first I considered getting a premade Alienware but after a bit of researching, I see that by building my own I could make an even more powerful PC for the same price; and learn a bit about computers in the process.

I'm not particularly tech saavy, so I don't even know where to start when it comes to looking for parts. But I went onto Newegg and tried to put together a setup using my budget and my limited knowledge as guides.

My current setup is below -

Processor
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
Processor Cooler
XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Processor Cooler Bracket
XIGMATEK ACK-I7751 Retention Bracket
Thermal Compound
ARCTIC COOLING MX-2 Thermal Compound
Motherboard
ASUS P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
Video Card
POWERCOLOR AX4870 512MD5-PPH Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
RAM
CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Power Supply
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V NVIDIA SLI Ready ATI CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
DVD Drive
LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM
Case