First time Builder. Need help with whole process!

ark300

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2008
Hello all. I’m starting the process of building a new desktop, from top to bottom. I am pretty much a newb on the subject of building your own PC. I wouldn’t say a complete beginner because I know the basic components of computers and their functions. I wanted to find a good forum that could aid and assist me through the whole building process; from picking parts to the assembly, and this forum seems like a great place. I filled out the list to help you all get an idea of what I’m looking for.

1. Budget: $1,000+ but not too much over that because I still need to buy monitor, keyboard, mouse… basically everything

1. Brands: Are there any brands of components you want or don't want? Intel over AMD

2. Multitasking: Will you be multitasking with this computer and if so, how much? Gaming and maybe something in the background, playing music for example.

3. Gaming: Will you be gaming and if so, how much and how new are the games? Yes. Primary purpose for the computer would be gaming. I’m not looking to play the hardcore shooters that are very demanding. Main goal is to play World of Warcraft at max settings(I know its not too hard to achieve), City of Heroes, Starcraft 2, Diablo 3 (when they come out). Also, games like Gears of War and Supreme Commander would be nice to play on max settings also.

4. Calculations: Will you be doing any intense calculations or media encoding? Not so much. Just gaming, word processing, music, etc. No photoshop or similar demanding programs.

5. Overclocking: Do you plan on overclocking and if so, how much? I guess if I could be confident in my ability to do so, but if I can achieve my gaming goals above without the need of overclocking, then most likely not.

6. Storage: How much storage will you need and what will you be storing? Nothing too extreme. Just enough for games and some music. I can always buy extra storage later if I need it, right?