Sign in with
Your question

Hello, Gentleman. A moment of your time? Final Build!

Last response: in Systems
August 25, 2008 5:27:46 PM

Edit: Changed Hardrive to 500gb(up from 250), Decided on Corsair DHX memory

Hello, all. This is my near final list of desired parts for my new desktop. Primary purpose would be for gaming. This is my first time building a PC so I don’t know all too much about it, but I did leave OC and Crossfire options open…I think. But yeah, critique my build, let me know if I could go better on some spots or if things aren’t compatible. I have some questions at the end of the list :D 

Motherboard - $159.99
ASUS P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Processor - $169.99
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

Video Card - $289.99
POWERCOLOR AX4870 512MD5-PPH Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

RAM - $105.00
CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Hard Drive - $69.99
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Processor Cooler - $34.99
XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler

Processor Cooler Bracket
XIGMATEK ACK-I7751 Retention Bracket - $6.99

Thermal Compound
ARCTIC COOLING MX-2 Thermal Compound - $6.99

Power Supply - $119.99
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V NVIDIA SLI Ready ATI CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

DVD Drive - $23.99
LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM

Case - $84.99
COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

OS
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit English for System Builders 1pk DSP OEI DVD - $99.99