Sign in with
Your question

Pre-build questions from a beginner

Last response: in Systems
August 26, 2008 12:30:53 AM

Hi, I'm a long-time lurker that has finally decided to consider the home build. I want to ask a few questions before I really draft a build and post it. I know you guys and gals will be able to give me some great feedback.

1. I want to maximize my systems' longevity, future compatibility, and future performance.
- Should I consider 45nm CPUs over 65nm CPUs for this reason?
- Should I consider X48 mobos over P35 for this reason?
- Any other important considerations here?

2. How do I calculate how much power will be needed by my system? PSU wattage is a guessing game to me right now.

3. If I buy a decent case, and might overclock a bit, will I need to buy separate fans, or will the case fans usually be adequate?

4. Am I crazy to do do a home build and OC'ing without any prior experience?
(I'm a software developer with years of practice in replacing computer parts, so I'm not totally clueless, but I've never built from scratch).

Thanks for your help!

August 26, 2008 1:36:44 AM

#1 - Build Your PC for Today and Worry Less About the Future.
When it Comes, Sell your Old PC and Build New. Nothing is wasted this way.

#2 - Decide the CPU Last. After you have Designed your System, Post here and we will help. In General, The Power Required is Greatly OverEstimated. One Tip is to Checkout the Review for any GPU. THere is always a "Power Consumption" Section which is the total power used by the System. But post here for a better total analysis for your final system.

#3 - A Number of the Decent Cases include a Sufficient Number of Case Fans. The Amount of Case Cooling Will Depend on Parts. Example - The HD4870 produces more heat, but it's cooler exhausts the heat out of the case. The HD4850 produces less heat, but does not exhaust it out of the back of the case. This means you need a case with better cooling.
Again, We can help pick a Case.