Did OC + Prime95 just fry my new computer? (chill pill taken ;)

ruffhouseutah

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2009
(Didn’t realize I was ‘shouting’ in a previous post until I read your replies to another poster, so I took a pill chill and will try my petition again… :)

I’m new to overclocking and I’m hoping I didn’t just fry my brand new rig in the attempt. Hopefully it's just the power supply or some other component that can be easily replaced... How can I tell?

Symptoms: no power at all, and a faint smell of burned electricals

What I was doing when it happened: was running prime 95 to test stability of my "EZ" overclock settings (native in the BIOS) and rendering a video at the same time. When the temps hit 85c I shut down prime 95 but the temps kept going up. Found the prime 95 process was still running, so I stopped it using the Task Manager. Computer froze. I restarted, went into BIOS and loaded defaults, restarted again and tried to start windows (version 7-64). Windows stalled in the middle of startup, so I restarted again. Boot options came up and I chose the "safe startup (recommended)" option. It stalled again. Tried to restart, it shut off and nothing happened; it wouldn't restart or power on at all. Tested the power strip, it was working. Burnt smell. Crap. Pulled everything off the power supply except the motherboard... Nothing. Hoping it's just the power supply, cause if it's the motherboard I don't think they'll take it back under warranty, right? (though i did get everything from new egg...).

My rig:

ASROCK X58 EXTREME
CORE i7 920
XIGMATEC 1283 COOLER
CORSAIR 650W PS
MUSHKIN 6 GB 1333 DDR3
COOLERMASTER 690
GIGABYTE 9600GT
WINDOWS 7 64-bit
(2) WD Caviar Black 640G

Any help on troubleshooting would be appreciated…

Solution
Congratulations !

WHAT WAS BURNED?

Did you find the part that is burned? You mentioned smelling burnt parts or something. Was that on the PSU or on the motherboard?