Sign in with
Your question

"Earthing" the computer?

Last response: in Systems
August 26, 2008 9:42:49 PM

I've got all my components for a new system, but I keep hearing bits here and there about keeping the system Earthed while building it by plugging in the PSU but keeping it off (or something along those lines. Idk for sure which is why I'm asking!).

This goes against common sense to me, so I figured I'd ask and make sure if I was or was not supposed to do this.

So to summerize: Do I need to plug my computer in, or do anything with the PSU before I power it up.

More about : earthing computer

August 26, 2008 9:50:54 PM

Don't worry about all that. It's to keep static from building up. I'm a computer tech myself, and if I do not have my wrist strap handy, what I do is get in a stationary spot where I don't have to move a lot, then touch a metal, unpainted part of your computer case before you touch anything. Myself, if I'm handling a part, I like to hold an unpainted part of the case while moving/installing a part. But when building a machine, I don't plug them in. If you are careful and be sure to touch an unpainted part of your case often, and don't move around, you should be ok.
August 26, 2008 10:01:24 PM

Unplug your power supply when you work on your system. ohio_ugrad-06's advice is very good advice. Sometimes I forget to touch bare metal before I touch my RAM or CPU. I have a wrist strap too, but I don't always use it. Good idea to be like ohio and take his advice. May save you a CPU RMA in the future. Oh, all my floors are tile or wood except the bedrooms. I'm usually sleeping if I work on my system in the bedrooms. 8)
Related resources
August 26, 2008 10:17:15 PM

rub a balloon on your head drag your feet across the carpet. then touch the underside of the CPU. Bet your odds of damaging the CPU would be less then 50%... shame I don't have the money to waste to test it.
August 26, 2008 10:34:47 PM