Sign in with
Your question

Liquid cooling a dual xeon workstation suggestions

Last response: in Overclocking
a b K Overclocking
November 12, 2009 3:19:48 PM

the company i work for recently bought a new main render rig for design and draughting department, so i suggested a bit of an overclock for increased performance, so we settled on water cooling i have some liquid cooling experience but this is complicated

i was thinking 2 kits of swiftech ultima's

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/8412/ex-wat-141/Swift...

any help appreciated
a b K Overclocking
November 12, 2009 10:06:21 PM

Don't get kits. Listing full specs will help. Also, read the guide at the top of this section.
a c 86 K Overclocking
November 13, 2009 12:29:23 AM

The kits you listed has a CPU, NB, and GPU cooler. You don't need a GPU cooler.

You should make sure the board can accept standard mounting holes for the CPU cooler. Cooling the NB/SB might not be worth it on your setup.

I have seen a few shulltrail boards watercooled at Xtreme Forums. Thats where the TOP experts hang out.

So I suggest you head to Xtreme Systems, do your research and then have a full concise list of what your plans are before asking there. Case, budget, overclocks, board, GPU etc. Take your time, this is pretty different.
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
November 13, 2009 9:53:50 AM

Shadow703793 said:
Don't get kits. Listing full specs will help. Also, read the guide at the top of this section.

its a tyan dual 1366 board with 2 xeon w5590's so it should accept normal 1366 water blocks, 2 nvidia quadro fx5800's ,one gtx 275 ,case is a lian li p80

budget $3000 just or cooling
a b K Overclocking
November 13, 2009 9:58:08 AM

Conumdrum said:
The kits you listed has a CPU, NB, and GPU cooler. You don't need a GPU cooler.

You should make sure the board can accept standard mounting holes for the CPU cooler. Cooling the NB/SB might not be worth it on your setup.