Sign in with
Your question

Need help on Ram, Bios, hard disk

Last response: in Motherboards
December 17, 2008 3:43:35 AM

Hi everyone,

I am a layman in computer and ran into this site by pure chance (which benefited me a lot). Anyway, I decided it's time to “revamp” my comp – replacing a bigger harddisk and adding more RAM on my ~30 mths old Dell Inspiron 630m. (have to postpone my next new purchase due to the recent bad economics here as well ). Have these questions in mind and wonder if anyone could give me some help (much appreciated):

1. My comp manual mentioned the max Ram capacity is 2G (in 2 slots), I have (1G + 216M) currently and would prefer to add a 2G RAM instead of 1G (as RAM now is dirt cheap and after all I can transfer the 2G one to my next laptop anyway). I’ve checked online but there seems no new Bios upgrade available from Dell on 630m (I've assumed this is necessary as it has exceeded stated max Ram capacity, correct me if I am wrong) . I wonder if: a) without any Bios upgrade, would my Dell still able to “recognize”/use the (2G +1G) Ram, and if anybody has successfully done this before? b) even if my Dell could not properly use 2G + 1G in different slots, I am still “okay” with any of below 2 outcomes: i) comp recognize the 2G as 1G Ram in one slot, with another old 1G in second slot (then I still got total 2G ram running) ii) it can recognize my 2G on one slot (but cannot recognize further Ram in the second slot as it has “maxed out” Yet, what I don’t really want to see is my comp can’t recognize the new 2G Ram at all or system instability. Could someone share some experience or give some advice over this? c) and would a bios from different brands help? (I assume not!) And if yes and anyone has any idea how to do it, please let me know.