Matching FSB and Memory

madbstd

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2009
Hi

I am currently studying for my A+ and after reading about Bus's it prompted me to work out some of my PCs memory and CPU throughputs and speeds. After reading about bus speeds and matching RAM and FSB speeds at 1:1 ratio I’m stuck. My CPU is a QX9650 running an FSB of 1333 MHz. I realise the FSB runs at 4x system clock so my system clock is 333 MHz. I have 4GB OCZ Reaper PC28000 so that would be DDR2 1000: Throughput / Bandwidth (8000 / 8bytes). The memory clock speed of this would be 1000 / 4 so 250 MHz memory clock. If I wanted to buy 1:1 matched RAM I would theoretically need DDR2 1333 Ram but I don’t think this is available. I worked this out using the following:

Memory Clock x2 (DDR2's Bus Multiplier) x2 (Double Data Rate) X Bandwidth (64 / 8)

Is it the actual memory clock that should match in a DDR2 platform or DDR2’s I/O bus speed which is twice the memory clock? If so this would mean I would need DDR2 667 which is available and would make more sense it’s just I thought FSB should match memory clock. Am I calculating something incorrectly or misunderstanding something? Sorry for the confusing question I hope it makes sense and appreciate help people can give.

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008

Thats not exactly accurate, or I would even say its just wrong.

Ram runs at 2x bus speed only when 1:2 ratio is applied

System clock combined with fsb:ram ratio gives end Dram frequency, it is not system clock x2. Data rate is the Dram frequency x2(but thats irrelevant really, created for marketing purposes) So system clock 333MHz with 1:1 ratio = 333Mhz Dram frequency = DDR 667

Cpu end frequency is the system clock x Cpu multiplier