Sign in with
Your question
Solved

WARNING: Be careful mixing Xigmatek Dark Knight with LGA 1366 boards!

Last response: in Overclocking
November 19, 2009 3:33:11 AM

Recently had a motherboard failure, RMA'd, got the new board, hooked it up outside the case and it worked fine...

Hooked it up inside the case--CoolerMaster 690--and it lit up for about 3 seconds, then poof! A small puff of smoke goes into the air and it shuts off!

Fearing I just fried another ASRock X58 board because I'm a stupid newbie and this is my first computer build, I look around for the source of the puff of smoke and found it...!

Around the back of the motherboard tray I see where a bolt housing (the housing would be used for LGA 775 but not for my LGA 1366 because it's flipped over) protruding from the bottom of the Dark Knight's back plate was in direct contact with the motherboard tray and singed the metal on the motherboard tray!

I haven't inspected the motherboard yet or even taken it out to see if it's toast, that's for tomorrow...

There are four of these protrusions on bottom of this backplate that could come in contact with the case metal... I'm no expert on electronics, but I'm guessing that they should be filed down or at least covered with electrical tape if I want to continue using the Dark Knight (which I do).

And since I'm using universal M3/M3 spacers, my guess is that this is a potential problem with ANY motherboard and ANY case... no?

Can anyone shed light on why the bottom of the HSF backplate touching the case metal would cause a short anways? Or what the likely consequences are that I'll find when I take the board out and fire it up on the table?
a b V Motherboard
November 19, 2009 3:50:34 AM

Don't the standoffs hold the bracket off the back of the motherboard tray?

Are you using the version of DarkNight specifically for the LGA 1366 - model S1283V and the related brackets?
m
l
November 19, 2009 4:02:27 AM