X1950XT upgrade to 4670 worth it?

dna2243

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2008
Hey all,
I currently have at Sapphire X1950XT and have always basically just played WoW. In the last week though, I started playing WAR. Now my card is running a little hot (stock cooler, new case, 2 fans etc) and I think it's just starting to show it's age. I am looking at

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161249

I am on a budget as my wife and I just welcomed our baby daughter into the world, so the last things she (my wife not the kid :) as she likes all the pretty colors! ) wants is me spending money on upgrading my comp right now.

At that pricepoint I think she won't have an issue. I do think she will have an issue with 150 and up though, so unfortunately going to a nicer card than the 4670 is not an option.

So my question is, is the upgrade really worth it? Will I see better performance?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate it.

Ok so its running hot but is it giving you problems as far as playing the game goes ? Im assuming your running XP and so wont benefit from DX10 ?
Yes you would get a performance boost but you may want to look at this from another forum.
http://forum.micromart.co.uk/Topic263519-19-1.aspx
I was struggling along with a X1650XT when we covered this and it increased my performance by about 20%
The Author uses a 1950 pro
Mactronix
Ps Any questions just repost or feel free to PM me

dagger

Splendid
Mar 23, 2008

+1

As for "faster," at stock, the performance increase over 4670 is very small, and not normally noticeable. See chart, average performance across large number of games on different resolutions and aa/af settings.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Powercolor/HD_4670/26.html

Still, it's cheaper and overclocks better, not to mention free usb drive plus free shipping, while you have to pay $8.25 extra for 4670's shipping.

pauldh

Illustrious