Sign in with
Your question

Help! $700ish for a gaming pc, don't know where to start.

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
September 1, 2008 7:04:14 PM

I haven't upgraded my pc for a long time, so I figure using some of my friend's parts and $700 will get me a pretty massive upgrade. I have never built my own computer or picked out the parts for one. I know nothing of sockets or pins or ddrs. My friends are going to help me assemble it, I am hoping that experienced people here can help me select what I need. Here are some random facts that might help you help me.

This computer will be mostly for gaming, I do no video editing.
I plan on reusing: case, hard drives(2), my 19" syncmaster 940mw, keyboard, mouse, speakers.
I don't plan on upgrading this after it is built with a 2nd video card.
I have never used vista before, everyone is telling me to stick to xp. Thoughts?

Thank you in advance for helping a newbie!

More about : 700ish gaming start

Anonymous
September 1, 2008 7:15:45 PM

Proximon said:
I just helped someone put together a $700.00 system:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/255335-31-please-opti...

Start with that list near the bottom I made.

If you have a good XP license, at a 700.00 budget you can wait a bit before upgrading to Vista 64 bit.

Doh, should have seen that. Thank you.
Related resources
September 1, 2008 8:36:24 PM

Ill give you a similar tip that i just gave to the guy whos building the 700$ rig Proximon pointed out...

It;s a key variable in this equation if you will overclock. In my humble opinion, If budget builds is the topic, i would go for an Intel e2180 (70$) and Overclock it beyond 3.0ghz easily with the Artic cooling freezer pro 7 (25$) and get even more performance than an e8400 core2duo at stock clocks, saving almost a 100$... or if you think than a dual core pentium is too ugly for a rig, just get the core2duo e7200.

IMO, i'd go for:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
or