Sign in with
Your question

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P vs GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R

Last response: in Motherboards
December 23, 2008 12:15:58 AM

This is my first build and i was wondering which motherboard is better, and whats the difference?

also, core duo (e8400 3.0GHz) ore quad core (q6600 2.4GHz)

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

does anyone have any expirience with these boards, i know gigabyte is a good and reliable brand.

thanks for any help
December 23, 2008 5:26:20 AM

As far as i know the only difference between those 2 boards is the ud3r is a single x16 pci-x slot, and the ud3p is a dual pci-x slot, with one at x16 and the second at x8 which is really a non issue these days.

Basically the only reason to get the ud3p is if you plan on doing some SLI/Crossfire action now or in the future. As for the ud3r, from my research its one of the best/most stable boards you can get and has editors reccomendation from a couple different respected websites.
December 31, 2008 9:36:48 PM

I've only had my build running two days but I like my GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P. A lot of BIOS options to OC with. I bought a Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer for cooling but I can't use it because of the heat sinks on the north bridge, so you might want to make sure that whatever HS you use fits.
The front audio connector is in the way back of the board and means you have to have the cable run across the MB, which kinda sucks. I'm also having problems uninstalling the ET6 software that came with the motherboard.

Everything I head about the board before deciding to purchase was good.
Related resources
June 26, 2009 9:58:47 AM