Which PC should become my main system

rmbelson

Distinguished
May 20, 2003
Hi:

I've been using PC #1 for a few years and just bought #2 to network in as a music client. But I'm wondering if I should shift #2 to be my main system and put #1 into service as the client. If I do, I'll have to spend time moving files and loading tons of software into the new system. Want to see if it's worth the effort and aggravation. Assume that the dvd drives will be the same. System 1 has add on sound and video cards; system 2 will use the onboard.

I sometimes run Photoshop. do a lot of music listening, burning, ripping, etc., but no gaming. Not sure if I have all the info needed -- one system has Sisoft Sandra, other Auslogic System info.

Thanks for leading me to the right choice.

PC #1

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.20GHz
Speed : 3.20GHz
Performance Rating : PR7034 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 16kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 2MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : AT/AT COMPATIBLE INTEL - 697
Mainboard : Intel Corporation DG965RY
Total Memory : 2GB

Chipset 1
Model : Intel Corporation ??? (29A0)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : Radeon X1300/X1550 Series
Sound Card Creative SB Audigy 4 (WDM)

PC #2

Processor Name: AMD Athlon(tm) X2 Dual Core Processor BE-2400
Videocard Name: NVIDIA GeForce 7050 PV / NVIDIA nForce 630a
Installed Memory: 1,790.48 MB

Physical Processors: 1
Logical Processors: 2
Processor Vendor: AMD
Processor Name: AMD Athlon(tm) X2 Dual Core Processor BE-2400
Additional Name: x86 Family 15 Model 11 Stepping 2
Popular Name: Athlon X2 Dual Core Processor BE-2400
Frequency: 2520 MHz