Ordering a new pc and have questions

Thulium72

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2008
I'm about to purchase a XPS 730 from Dell. I know I could build it cheaper but due to the fact my credit cards are maxed and cash in hand is an issue that leaves me with Dell only since I have a credit card from them ;) and I'm in need of a replacement pc for gaming (Warhammer Online, Crysis, COD4 ect...)

Anyways I was thinking of getting the following:

E8400
4GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz
DUAL CARDS: ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB or maybe the GTX280

I was told by a Dell rep that I can OC the E8400 without voiding the warranty as long as I didn't go overboard on it. I'm new to OC'n and have a few questions I'm hoping can be answered.

1)If I left the E8400 at stock speed is it still powerful enough for gaming in terms of high settings and running at 1280x1024?

2)If I was to overclock it using the standard cooling that comes with the system what is possible speed wise and still being in the safe zone on temp/voltage?

3)Is the ram speed a good choice or should I just downgrade to the 1066MHz?

4) Lastly I cannot decide on the video card setup completely. I have thought about going with a single 4850 or possibly 2 for Xfire. But on the same note I could get a GTX280 for a couple hundred more. Any recommendations as to what is a better for gaming needs?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm ordering the system tonight or tomorrow before the coupon I have expires.

joel17

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2008