AMD Overdrive support for Win 7 64-bit?

whiteshadow_22

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2009
I've got an AMD 6000+ dual core @3.Ghz stock.

My GFX is a Radeon 4850 at stock speed.

4GB's RAM.

I play COD 5 a lot but sometimes my FPS drops below 125 which it's capped at on some maps.

My FPS doesn't improve when I lower the resolution so I'm pretty sure my CPU is bottlenecking my game speed.

I'll prob get a Phenom 2 in the near future but I want to use AMD Overdrive to help overclock my CPU until then.

Does anyone know if there's a version which runs on Windows 7 64-bit?

And I'm a noob to OC'ing. Any tips on where to start?

Thanks for any help.

whiteshadow_22

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2009
Thanks.

Overdrive isn't working for me, it starts to initialize then says "AMD Overdrive" failed to start.

After doing some research I think it's due tomy chipset. I'm using an ASRock K10N78.

Looks like I'l have to overclock from the BIOS.

Thanks for the links.

I'll do a lot of reading up before I change any settings.

ru_1980

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2010
I am having the same issue with AMD overdrive. Fails to start....

The system:
Gigabyte GA-790FXTA-UD5 (AMD 790FX and SB750)
AMD Phenom II X3 705e
Windows 7 64 bit
Kingston Hyperx DDR3 1333 CL7 (4GB)
Segate 250 GB SATA priamary drive (C:)
Western Digital 320 GB secondary (D:)
Sapphire Radeon HD5770 VApour-X