Sign in with
Your question

Can someone explain PCI-ex and AGP?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 30, 2008 10:50:30 PM

I'm a novice builder, I have a few very basic questions regarding graphics cards:

Can someone explain me why there are still AGP cards on the market if PCI-express is much faster?
The newest cards support PCI-ex 2.0, it doubles the transfer rate? Are all motherboards/chipsets supporting it?
Why not until now? I read somewhere that 2.0 has been around for almost two years and 3.0 is arriving soon?

More about : explain pci agp

September 30, 2008 11:06:44 PM

AGP is for people with really old computers. Don't even worry about it.
a c 142 U Graphics card
September 30, 2008 11:08:47 PM

AGP graphic cards are still being manufactured for people who have older systems and don't need to upgrade their CPU. My S939 AMD X2 4800+ will still run any game on the market with the possible exceptions of Supreme Commander and Microsoft FSX (it does run Crysis though). Also, not everyone is a gamer. Some people just need a graphics card so they can hook up a second monitor

A (newer) motherboard will have either a PCI-E 1.0 or a PCI-E 2.0 graphic card slot(s). You can use a PCI-E 2.0 graphics card in a PCI-E 1.0 motherboard slot (I believe). You can use a PCI-E 1.0 graphics card in a PCI-E 2.0 motherboard slot.

Yes, PCI-E 2.0 does double the transfer rate, but few cards (if any) have reached the limitations of PCI-E 1.0. I don't believe PCI-E 2.0 has been available to consumers for more than a few of months and I view PCI-E 3.0 like I view DDR3 RAM; completely unnecessary at this point in time.

Any way, that's my take on it.

-Wolf sends
Related resources
September 30, 2008 11:14:59 PM

First, PCI-express is denoted as PCI-e, not PCI-ex. Some people may get confused if you say that; PCI-e is used to generally refer to PCI Express, whereas PCI-x generally refers to PCI Extended, a version of PCI ports with an extended bus.