Sign in with
Your question

Not sure if this is suposed to happen....

Last response: in Overclocking
December 1, 2009 10:48:35 PM

heya,

im new here and to the ocing art but am now becoming more confident in trying it out.

i have jest purchased a new rig comprising of:

core i5 -750
Zalman CNPS9900-NT CPU Cooler
4GB G.SKILL ripjaw pc 12800 1600mhz
msi p55-gd65
corsair vx 450w psu

according to cpu-z i am runing @

3.2ghz @ a core voltage of 1.3 (mobo sent it auto)

i had this by only turning the intel xmp profile on and disabling turbo ( was told to do this)

is this voltage to high? should i manualy lower it?

also im a tad scared to keep this oc as it is (like i mentioned im new at this and dont want my brand new system to go bang )

is it safe to keep this oc constantly for the life of my system? ( wil mostly jest be gaming)

point to consider:
very very rare will i hit 100% usage on all 4 cores

so any advice / criticism would be greatly appreciated or any comments or suggestions on how to improve what i have is great.

in a nutshell im jest worried that using xmp profile on and turbo off to make a clock speed of 3.2 and using this oc for the life of my system will ruin it quick.
and if i not maxing out my system is ocing really going to increase my performance?

jest a paranoid new ocer here thanks for your time in helping

ps. also for soem strange reason on everything stock on first boot cpu-z states im running at 2.8ghz on idle
checked in bios and everything is default :S any suggestions?
cpu-z states 133.7 x 21 = 2.8 duno how its getting this bios is set to 20x
turbo off sets the clock to 2.6 as it is supposed to be but with it on all 4 cores are runign 2.8 :s is this normal even tho load on all 4 cores are 0%? dosent turbo only ment to kick in when u need it and not stay on all the time?

More about : suposed happen

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 24, 2009 10:00:10 AM

Quote:
3.2ghz @ a core voltage of 1.3 (mobo sent it auto)