Sign in with
Your question

Concerned about voltages (core i5/GA-P55-UD3R)

Last response: in Overclocking
December 2, 2009 7:57:33 AM

This is my first time overclocking and I just want to post about my results and find out if the voltages I've used are appropriate. I may be interested in pushing my new i5 further in the future, but right now my goal is simply to establish a BIOS profile that maximizes the performance of my system without sacrificing stability or lifespan in any serious way.

Relevant components:
CPU: core i5-750
Memory: 4GB of F3-15000CL9D-4GBRH (rated for 1866 at 9-9-9-24)
Mobo: GA-P55-UD3R
Heatsink: Cooler Master 212 plus

I first tried getting it to 3.2GHz, no problems. Then I tried cranking it up to 3.8 GHz - problems. So I raised the core voltage from 1.19v to around 1.25v (that's what i had read was the normal voltage anyways - what gives?). Now windows ran fine but prime95 quickly had errors. So then I tried tweaking the voltage some more and found that it ran stable for a few minutes at 1.30v. When I tried backing it down, it quickly had problems. So I tried running it at 1.30v for a long while: after around 45 minutes, prime95 reported a problem. (it has always said something to the effect that rounding produced an unexpected value, and it has always been on the third core, #2 of 0-3)

My reading has suggested that the voltage should only be increased a little past 1.25 (maybe to 1.27) for 3.8GHz, so what am I doing wrong? I don't want to keep raising and raising the voltages without advice and damage my CPU or socket (btw, I do have a foxconn socket, so I may want to be extra careful).

Some other relevant details:
- CPU multiplier at 20x (turbo turned off)
- base-clock at 190MHz
- memory turned down to 8x (so I don't confuse memory problems with cpu problems, i'd like to turn this up to 10x and see if I can get my memory just a hair over spec - thoughts?)
- memory timings at defaults (9-9-9-24)