Sign in with
Your question

Looking to build a $5K-6K system

Last response: in Systems
September 7, 2008 11:11:16 PM

Hi All!!!

I'm new to the forum and have been trying to find some info on building a new PC.

I'm looking at a budget of about $5K-6K.

I would like it based on an Intel 9700 3.2ghz CPU, 790i MB, Dual nVidia 280 graphics cards in SLi, 8GB Ram, 2x300GB Velociraptor HD's in raid 0, water cooled CPU/GPU/MB, CD Burner w/lightscribe and BD, media reader, and a good case to put all this in...

I've built several systems in the past with great success but this is my first attempt at a high end system. Any ideas/suggestions as to what components/manufacturers I should look at getting would greatly be appreciated!

Best regards and thanks!!!
Ken

More about : build system

September 7, 2008 11:24:22 PM

Quite honestly I would get a 1.5k rig plus a good water cooling set up and upgrade every year. Get some good 1066 ddr2 such as the Corsair dominators or ddr3 if you want(barely any performance increase). Case perhaps the Coolermaster 830, Cosmos S, a good Lian Li maybe instead? and reuse the case and water cooling. There's no doubt an expensive system will be great immediately, but after the first 2.5-3 years the 1.5k systems would probably a better approach.
September 7, 2008 11:37:16 PM

Look over these suggestions @ ExtremeTech: ExtremeTech's Killer Gaming Rig

IMO if you have $5K to spend I think you'd be a LOT better off with using 2.5K for a laptop and 2.5K for a desktop.
Related resources
September 7, 2008 11:39:19 PM

+1 to mark....

Dont spend 5k on a build now, cause in half a year, its already destroyed by a $1500 system. Build a $1500 rig like Mark said and then upgrade and save the extra cash for future systems/upgrades.