How to determine motherboard in dead laptop

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Laptops
Last response: in Motherboards
a b V Motherboard
December 31, 2008 7:51:22 PM

Hey guys,
I have been building computers for many years, yet I have little experience with laptops. I was trying to determine which motherboard I might have in my Compaq presario CQ50-107NR, but it has died so everest won't help.

I have rma'd and they are sending my shipping stuff, so that's not the issue.
I want to purchase some ram for when it returns, and they recommend the pc5300 sodimm modules. I am assuming that since it is not a newer laptop it won't take the ddr2 800 ram, and I think its running an AMD QL-60. And it prolly wouldn't make that much difference if it did. I can get 4 gigs for under $50 of the pc5300, so I will prolly get that when my student loans come in.

They (HP) said somewhere that it can take up to 3 gigs but I believe that's because the system came with Vista 32 bit. AFAIK, it can take two 2GB modules. It looks that way anyhow.
Another thing I was planning for the return of my pc was a dual boot with Ubuntu 64 so I can do some things quite a bit faster. Really only need windows for office applications for school. And games of course.

But inquiring minds want to know..Just where the heck can I find out this info. about my laptop?
Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance for satisfying my curious mind.

More about : determine motherboard dead laptop

December 31, 2008 8:32:20 PM

Took me 5secs to google this page:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?product=3758...

I'd start poking around there.

Chances are you can only use 3 gig is because 1gig came with the system board, either premounted or on an internal SODIMM slot. That leaves another SODIMM slot that a typical user can add, a 2 gig module.
December 31, 2008 8:33:53 PM