Why Voltage Increases Not Helping ?

This is an update on an older thread where I was at much higher voltages.

System:
Asus R2E
Mushkin 998692 w/ Ascent Cooling and 6-7-6-18 timings
i7-920
Prolimatech Megashadow

Working w/ my son on his new build. We have built several boxes together and I have been building for 20+ years but only boxes which had a primary duty as CAD machines, so never played much w/ aggressive OC'ing (read > 20%). Right now we are working on a stable OC about 3.7 with no "tricks", that is no shutting off BIOS features.

Have a very stable OC at 3.7 GHz, 176 BLK, 1.2000 CPU Voltage. 1.56 DRAM Voltage. Very satisfied as the goal for regular use was to hit 3.66 w/o disabling SpeedStep, HT or anything else. However, that doesn't mean we don't want to understand more about the intricacies of OC'ing and still looking to improve things.

Here's where we are puzzled. Leaving everything else as is (except voltage)....bumping the BCLK up to 177 fails....I used to have to wait 6 hours of Prime95 to discover this but now using OCCT which usually sets off the failure alarm with 22 minutes left in the 60 minute test.

Memtest passed 12+ hours BTW, at both 160 BCLK x 10 and 200 BCLK x 8 at 1.56 voltage.

So, in the jist of education .....

-Is there any value to lowering CPU Voltage below the 1.2 volts which is the low range of most guides we have read ? Core temps are 66/63/63/63

-What correlation has anyone seen between successful OCCT tests and Prime95 ?