Sign in with
Your question

XP Pro sp3 vs Win 7 Ultimate

Last response: in Windows XP
February 11, 2011 6:05:54 AM

Good Day,

I hope that someone can help me shed light onto this matter as it has stumped me good and solid...

I have been a loyal XP pro user since it was released, but now I have finally upgraded my Relic to a semi real pc (In gaming terms ... lol) and need 2 decide on a OS ...

The system is

E5700 3ghz (overclock to 3.5ghz)
Asus P5G41M-LX
2GB DDR3 1333mhz
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 SO
Corsair VX450w (Will upgrade to 650w if needed)

My question is simple ... Which OS would be beter for the sytem listed ... I am an avid gamer and this is a gaming system ... (if u can call it a gaming system)

All opinions and advice will be greatly appreciated !!!

Kind Regards.

More about : pro sp3 win ultimate

a b 4 Gaming
February 11, 2011 4:30:37 PM

I have 3 desktops running, XP Pro, Vista Business, and Win7 Pro - of these 3 Operating Systems, Win 7 - 64-bit is clearly my number one choice!

You have the basic requirements for Win 7 64-bit and besides, in the Win 7 64-bit Pro version we also get XP virtual PC for older applications.

Go with either Win7 64-bit Professional OR Ultimate. The "retail" version allows you to uninstall and then re-install on a different PC - the OEM version does not provide this feature.
a b 4 Gaming
February 11, 2011 4:53:44 PM

Win 7 will happily run on almost every PC that will run XP that has at least 1 gig of RAM. I'd keep things at 32 bit though, 64 bit Windows have slightly more issues with program and driver compatability than 32 bit versions. Much less so now, but there is a difference. Since you only have 2 gig of RAM (even 4 is fine for 32bit) no need to use 64 bit.
Related resources
February 11, 2011 7:08:18 PM

Hey hey,

Thanks for the replies !! ...

It seems that my GFX Card has a small delivery problem ... or stock problem ... the supplier isn't being very specific with me ... sigh ...