Problems Installing 2 X 2GB On Foxconn P35A

rij23

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2009
Hi just joined and wonder if anyone can help. I have a ZooStorm PC only about 1 year old with a Foxconn P35A motherboard, Intel Quad Core processor, Windows Ultimate SP1, Nevada GeForce 8800 GT. The system currently runs on 2 X 1GB of RAM = 2GB in all. Although overall the PC runs well I decided to increase the RAM purchasing 2 X 2GB of matching RAM. The spec is corrected for the P35A as I checked online and double checked. I am a bit of a novice done my research and thought it would be easy to replace the two 1GB RAM with two 2GB RAM as each slot and there are 4 in total are capable of taking a total of 8GB according to the Foxconn website. Having installed the 2 X 2GB replacing the 2 X 1GB on boot up the PC booted twice then asked how I wanted to start windows I opted for normal then it went to a faded Windows start up stopped and proceeded to a blue screen the rebooted so I closed the system down took the 2GB cards out and refitted them to make sure they were fitted correctly which they were, then I resrted the PC and it looked as though the graphics card had stopped as they was no picture on screen. Refitted the two 1GB cards and everything booted and started as normal. I have rechecked the spec of the 2BG RAM and everything is correct. So what I thought would be a simple upgrade has turned into a nightmare. Is there anything I can do or anything I have missed. The only reason for the upgrade is I have read that Vista perfoms well on 3GB and as I make and edit a lot of DVDs for work that a highr RAM will help speed up the process. Please does anyone have some advice.

Thanks

rij23

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2009
Hi Nils,