loosing connection, and my wits!

alc101ma

Distinguished
May 22, 2001
This is my first time with Win2K. I shoulda stuck with 98se. First I have a problem getting my CDRW to burn. Now I keep on loosing my internet connection via cable modem. It will be working fine... but then viola, for no reason it stops working. The modem is fine, and the NIC appears to see the modem physically(green lights on). Sometimes I have to go into the connection settings for IE and redo them, even though they are already set the right way. But this last time the only way I found to fix it was to completely uninstall the D-Link NIC and then reboot and let Win2K find new hardware, and reinstall the drivers from the floppy. I wake up this morning and guess what, it's not working again! I'm on a lab pc right now. Anyone have any clue what is goin on? Faulty NIC? It's pretty much brand new. Something bad about my IBM Deskstar HDD? I've heard about them corrupting data.

redstar

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2001
to see what network problems are showing up. let us know what you see.

D-Link NIC --check windows update..it should report that there is a new driver for the card available (might help)

as always make sure you have sp2 installed and all the other patches that might be necessary depending on your hardware.

Win2k does networking tons beter than me. So its a remote chance that win2k is messing you up.

alc101ma

Distinguished
May 22, 2001
This is my first time with Win2K, so how do you check the log? I have no idea. I have all the service packs and everything is updated to current versions.

redstar

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2001
controlpanel/administrative tools (get used to these as they are awesome)/ event viewer.

the event viewer has 3 logs..application notices (like DCOM failed to initialize service)/security logs (makes note of security violations/ and system log --this one keeps track of events that are critical to win2k stability.

if u see a red X here..you had better take notice.