Sign in with
Your question

E6300 and SpeedFan 4.37 accurate?

Last response: in CPUs
December 3, 2008 6:10:14 AM

I'm a noob here but I think maybe my CPU is running very hot:

I never did any overclocking or anything like that. It's just the stock CPU and fan that came with it... What can I do to make it cool off? This is just idling. I'm afraid to see what it is when I'm encoding video which I do often...
December 3, 2008 6:24:22 AM

Check if you've mounted your processor HSF correctly. Re-apply thermal interface material when you put your HSF back on. I know for a fact that the stock cooler is not THAT bad. Have you tried core temp or real temp? Try googling those programs for checking CPU core temps. Those temps should be under 100% load, and definitely not idle.
December 3, 2008 6:30:22 AM

Considering that I don't even know what "thermal interface material" is, I'm guessing I did it wrong....
I tested the other two programs you mentioned and they show the same (mid 60s) I just tested the temp in another computer (that I didn't build), much older one with an Athlon 1800 processor and it's really hot too...
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
December 3, 2008 6:42:54 AM

"thermal interface material" is that (usually) grey paste on the bottom of the stock heatsink, and it squishes onto the chip to provide a thermally-conductive film between the two. Also, check those awful pushpins for the motherboard. If you're new to installing them, having a good play around with it will set it straight in your mind as to how to go about it. Remember, straight down onto the chip, 3-4 twists to spread the "thermal interface material" and remove air bubbles, then fasten the heatsink pins in a diagonal fashion.
December 3, 2008 6:47:44 AM