Sign in with
Your question

Should I store my PROGRAM FILES on my OS partition?

Last response: in Storage
February 14, 2010 2:02:34 PM

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this partitioning thing so I was wondering:

I just installed Windows 7 on a 50 GB C: partition of a 1TB hard drive. The remainder is drive E: and it's just storage.

The first thing I did was go to Cnet.com and download AVG Antivirus and now it wants to know where to save itself and it defaults to...the C: drive under PROGRAM FILES.

Do I save it here on my OS partition or do I put it in general storage (E:) ? Do I create a new partition for "program files"? Or a new folder on E:? I'm wondering because pretty much everything is a "program file" and if I did that then my C: drive is no longer my OS drive, it's my "everything" (MS office, World of Warcraft, etc...) drive. Everything will want to install under "program files" too so...what do I do?

Do things HAVE to go in the Windows "program files" path because they somehow rely on it?

Am I even making sense? :whistle: 

Thanks!
a c 127 G Storage
February 14, 2010 2:11:13 PM

Generally, everything that you install (Windows + applications + games) should be on C:. All user-related data (movies, pictures, downloads, whatever) should be on another partition. That means that all personal data is NOT on your C, only the program data which can be replaced.

If you separate user-files from system-files, it would be easier to backup your stuff, and the C: drive will become less fragmented with your personal stuff - so its good for performance also.
m
l
a c 127 G Storage
February 14, 2010 2:16:57 PM

Please note that antivirus programs can drastically reduce system performance. Every I/O will be checked by the anti-virus application first, slowing down the entire computer. An antivirus program is also a 'last resort'; it means a virus was able to come into your system in the first place. Ideally, you do not want a virus from ever reaching your computer.