Sign in with
Your question

8800gt weird noise..but only sometimes...

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 8, 2008 10:26:21 PM

Hi everyone,

Its my first time posting here and i figured that this would be the best place to explain my problem! Basically ive got 2 8800GT's in SLI and its all been fine up to now. I bought crysis: warhead and when i play it, one of the card makes a kind of ringing noise whenever there is something on the screen. When it goes black, the noise stops.

But...The weird thing is that if I play any other game, that noise isnt there..which is really confusing me and i have no idea whats going on. I have tried different drivers, SLI bridges.. you name it ive tried it and nothing helps

On games like assasins creed and alone in the dark i can play it on full settings and be fine, but its just crysis.

Specs:
Asus Striker II Formula
E8500 "Wolfdale" @3.80Gghz
4gb GEIL PC8500C5 1060
2x 8800GT (SLI)
Creative ExtremeMusic
512GB Samsung spinpoint.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance

Simon

More about : 8800gt weird noise

a b Î Nvidia
October 8, 2008 10:39:38 PM

By ringing noise, are we talking like the cooling fan whining? Or perhaps, an electronic beep/ring sound? With modern video cards, if the PCI-E power cord is not connected properly, they emit a high pitched solid beeping tone when the system powers up.

It could also be, that Crysis is taxing your GPUs more than other games (which is normal) and your fan may be running at 100% and having trouble cooling your card.
October 8, 2008 11:08:30 PM

jerreece said:
It could also be, that Crysis is taxing your GPUs more than other games (which is normal) and your fan may be running at 100% and having trouble cooling your card.

^This
Related resources
October 8, 2008 11:39:09 PM

^Yes, use Rivatuner to up your fan speeds to 100% and see if the sound manifests itself.
October 9, 2008 8:07:42 AM