Sign in with
Your question

Long-term GPU choice?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 9, 2008 10:49:30 PM

Hey guys,

I've found these forums pretty helpful, but I'm a noob at PC building. I know there's 50 million of these threads, but this is my first build so I should probably get some help. I think I got everything down except the Mobo/GPU selection (if my system will blow up, please let me know. that'd be appreciated ). I tried searching the forums and reading the comparisons but I still can't figure it out. I'm hoping to keep using this system for at least 3-4 years with minimal upgrades (this may be a noob notion). Crossfire looks appealing because then I can just slot in another cheap (at that time) card to continue to run the current games in a couple years (or do it now), right?

This is what I have so far, and I bought all but the GPU/Mobo and Case (was getting deals before they ran out). I was pretty sure the PSU could support any of the options I'm looking at but if not please let me know...

I will use this to play games, primarily Warhammer Online, SC2, DIII, probably something like Fallout 3 or Unreal Tournament 3, CoD4, etc. I don't care if it doesn't run Crysis well (I don't have the game anyway). I also hope to get an HD TV tuner so I don't need to get an expensive TV. My monitor is 24" and I will game at 1920x1200 resolution.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115041

GPU: ??

Mobo: ??

PSU: Corsair 650TX - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...orsair%20650tx

Memory: Crucial 2 x 2GB PC-6400 800Mhz DDR2 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...orsair%20650tx

Case: Antec P182 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=antec%20p182

HDD: Seagate 500GB 32MB Cache 7200RPM (only reason I'm getting 32MB is because it's about $4 more than the 16MB on eBay) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=antec%20p182